Skip to product information
1 of 4



Regular price €15.00
Regular price Sale price €15.00
Sale Out of stock
Tax included.

Jewel box

Label: Dallas Records - CD DALLAS 506, Slovenia

Release year: 2008

This album is an interpretation of Johann Sebastian Bach's work The Art of Fugue (Die Kunst der Fuge). The majority of this material was created in 2006 and premiered the same year on June 1st at the Bachfest in Leipzig.

Bach himself lived and worked in Leipzig from 1723 until the end of his life in 1750. In this period he also wrote the Art of Fugue, one of his most mysterious and baffling works. The Art of Fugue is a collection of fugues and canons that display the full gamut of fugal transformational techniques, such as augmentation and diminution. The theory that the work was intended to be an intellectual exercise rather than for performance is borne out by the fact that no instruments are specified in the score. But although the Art of Fugue (the title was not Bach's own) reveals Bach in his most academic and puzzle-solving guise, it is no mere pedantry and there is much here of great energy and inspiration.

Since Bach did not specify any instrumentation, the big question is: what instrument or instruments should the Art of Fugue be played on? There are many keyboard recordings, but versions are available for everything from saxophone quartet to orchestra. Since the work is very much based on mathematic algorithms, Laibach decided to use a computer and computer program as the key “instrument”, providing a very special electronic interpretation, showing that with his work J. S. Bach could as well be understood as the pioneer of electronic, techno, computer music.


1. Contrapunctus 1

2. Contrapunctus 2

3. Contrapunctus 3

4. Contrapunctus 4

5. Contrapunctus 5

6. Contrapunctus 6, a 4 Im Stile Francese

7. Contrapunctus 7, a 4 Augment Et Diminut

8. Contrapunctus 8, a 3

9. Contrapunctus 9, a 4 Alla Duodecima

10. Contrapunctus 10, a 4 Alla Decima

11. Contrapunctus 11, a 4

12. Contrapunctus 12, Canon Alla Ottava

13. Contrapunctus 13, Canon Alla Duodecima In Contrapuncto Alla Quinta

14. Contrapunctus 15, Canon Per Augmentationem In Contrario Motu